Questioning: CEP 812 Reflection

As CEP 812 comes to a close, the final blog post left me quite confused. After reading and re-reading the requirements over and over, I took a step back and focused on the key concepts I took away from Warren Berger’s A More Beautiful Question. There were no visual examples to reference when creating this project, so I decided to use WeVideo to discuss how looking at questions and the beauty of them influences my teaching practice.

To begin, enrolling in this program was my beautiful question. I enrolled in this program after asking myself, “Where do you see yourself in ten years?” Followed by, “If I remain an educator, how can I benefit my students in the best way possible?” My love for technology and the changes it’s made in education over the last ten, five, and even two years as well as my admiration for creativity drew me to this program.  The great thing about this course is that it allowed me to use my creativity abundantly. For example for this project as well as the wicked question problem, w had the opportunity to use any technical platform we wanted, as long as we embraced the content and shared the information that was requested.

As an educator, we focus so much on getting things done that things become programmed. We use the same apps. the same lesson plans, the same rubrics and often don’t change out of fear. Berger ( 2014 ), did a great job expressing that no matter what the situation is, you can always question the circumstance to “make things better.” Meaning, questions allow you to dig deeper into to content as well as reflect on life.

Below is a video I created ( roughly 5 min ), that focuses on the power of questions, how I use my passion and curiosity in the classroom and how my beautiful question drove me to this program.

 

 

References

Berger, W. (2014). A more beautiful question: The power of inquiry to spark breakthrough ideas. New York, NY: Bloomsbury.
Friedman, T. (2013, January 29). It’s the P.Q. and C.Q. as much as I.Q. The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html

 

 

Leave a comment